Bulletin de la Société de pathologie exotique


October 2010

(1908-… ; digitized in Medic@ to 1966. 59 volumes. Tables 1908-1932)

 Liste des ouvrages numérisés

Both the Bulletin de la Société de pathologie exotique (Bull Soc Pathol Exot) and the SPE, the learned society that showcases it, were created in 1908 by Alphonse Laveran, who was awarded the 1907 Nobel Prize in Medicine for his work on protozoa and his discovery of the malaria agent.

The periodical was first conceived of as a means of publishing the work that the members of the society had presented in the course of one given session, either as an oral communication or as a dissertation. But as time went by it became an international, multidisciplinary French-language journal that is open to all physicians, veterinarians, anthropologists and researchers working in the fields of either human and animal tropical medicine, or public health in developing countries. The Bulletin de la Société de pathologie exotique is a peer-reviewed journal that offers them the opportunity to publicize and circulate their work, in the form of either articles or short notes. Insofar as the reviewers’ analyses and critiques are sent in extenso to the authors, the Bulletin also plays an educational role both at and beyond the university.

The Bulletin de la Société de pathologie exotique, with five issues per year, is also a communication tool among French-speaking health professionals specialized in tropical diseases and, as such, it regularly publishes summarized versions of the communications that are presented during the SPE’s decentralized meetings as well as during those of other learned societies, both national and international, that are involved in research in tropical medicine.

The sections go from virology to medical anthropology via bacteriology, mycology, parasitology, clinical medicine, epidemiology, public health, therapeutics, medical entomology, etc. Authors who do not speak French may submit manuscripts written in English.

The Bulletin de la Société de pathologie exotique is indexed in Pub Med/Medline, Scopus, Pascal.Inist, Helminthological abstracts, Protozoological abstracts, Review of Medical and Veterinary Abstracts, Review of Medical and Veterinary Mycology, Tropical Diseases Bulletin and Veterinary Bulletin.

Since January 2010, the journal has been co-published by the SPE and Springer Verlag.

The articles are published online as soon as they have been accepted for publication by the editorial board, before they appear in print, which considerably reduces publication delays.

Eighteen months after being published, all the articles are available free of charge on the SPE’s Internet site.

To learn more about the history of the Bulletin de la Société de pathologie exotique:

See, in the Centennial Special Issue of the BSPE , the section on the history of the SPE (p. 157-211) .

The Bulletin de la Société de pathologie exotique on the Web

SPE Web site

  • 1908 to 1923: full tables of contents
  • 1989 to 1996: tables of contents (update in progress)
  • 1997 to 2009: tables of contents, abstracts and full texts
  • 2010: the full texts are put online and available free of charge on the SPE’s website 18 months after being published

Medic@

  • 1908 to 1966, titles and authors

Springer

  • as of 2010, the articles published in the latest issues are available free of charge to our subscribers. Individual articles may also be purchased through pay-per-view for a period of 18 months. The articles are put online as soon as they have been accepted for publication, before the printed installment is published (Online First system).

In addition, the journal is quite present on general search engines like Google.

Bulletin de la Société de pathologie exotique


Octobre 2010

(1908-… ; numérisé dans Medic@ jusqu’en 1966. 59 volumes. Tables 1908-1932)

 Liste des ouvrages numérisés

Le Bulletin de la Société de pathologie exotique (Bull Soc Pathol Exot) et la société savante (SPE) dont il est la vitrine ont été créés en 1908 par Alphonse Laveran, lauréat du prix Nobel de médecine l’année précédente pour ses travaux sur les protozoaires et la découverte de l’agent du paludisme.

Destiné, dans un premier temps, à servir de support à la publication des travaux des sociétaires présentés en séance sous forme de communication ou de mémoire, ce périodique est devenu, au fil du temps, une revue internationale francophone multidisciplinaire, ouverte à tous les médecins, vétérinaires, anthropologues et chercheurs travaillant dans le domaine de la médecine tropicale humaine et animale et de la santé publique dans les pays en voie de développement. Le Bulletin de la Société de pathologie exotique leur offre la possibilité de faire connaître leurs travaux sous forme d’articles ou de courtes notes, après acceptation par un comité de rédaction appuyé par un comité de lecture constitué de spécialistes reconnus au plan international. L’intégralité des analyses et des critiques des lecteurs étant renvoyée aux auteurs, le bulletin joue également un rôle dans la formation universitaire et post-universitaire.

Le Bulletin de la Société de pathologie exotique (cinq numéros par an) est également un organe de liaison pour les professionnels de santé tropicale francophones et, à ce titre, publie régulièrement, sous forme de résumés, les communications présentées aux réunions décentralisées de la SPE et à celles d’autres sociétés savantes, nationales et internationales impliquées dans la recherche en médecine tropicale.

Les rubriques proposées vont de la virologie à l’anthropologie médicale en passant par la bactériologie, la mycologie, la parasitologie, la clinique, l’épidémiologie, la santé publique, la thérapeutique, l’entomologie médicale… Lorsque les auteurs de l’article ne sont pas francophones, les textes en anglais sont acceptés

Le Bulletin de la Société de pathologie exotique est indexé dans Pub Med/Medline, Scopus, Pascal.Inist, Helminthological abstracts, Protozoological abstracts, Review of Medical and Veterinary Abstracts, Review of Medical and Veterinary Mycology, Tropical Disease Bulletin, Veterinary Bulletin.

Depuis janvier 2010, la revue est co-éditée par la SPE et Springer Verlag.

Les articles sont mis en ligne dès leur acceptation par le comité de rédaction et avant la réalisation du support papier, réduisant ainsi considérablement les délais de publication.

Dix-huit mois après leur parution, tous les articles sont accessibles gratuitement sur le site Internet de la SPE.

Pour en savoir plus sur l’histoire du Bulletin de la Société de pathologie exotique

Consulter, dans le Numéro spécial centenaire de la SPE, la partie consacrée à l’histoire de la SPE (p. 157-211).

Le Bulletin de la Société de pathologie exotique en ligne

Site de la SPE

  • 1908 à 1923 : sommaires complets
  • 1989 à 1996 : sommaires (mise à jour en cours)
  • 997 à 2009 : sommaires, résumés et textes complets
  • 2010 : les textes complets sont mis en ligne gratuitement sur le site de la SPE, au fur et à mesure, après 18 mois de parution

Medic@

  • 1908 à 1966, titre et auteurs

Springer

  • à partir de 2010, les articles publiés dans les derniers numéros sont disponibles pour les abonnés du Bulletin ou en accès payant par article pendant 18 mois. Mise en ligne des articles dès leur acceptation, avant la parution du fascicule imprimé : système online first.

La revue est par ailleurs bien référencée sur les moteurs généraux type Google.